[email protected] For 24x7x365 Assistance:- (011)-41646363 Payment Gateway

Passport & Visas

You require a valid passport from your country and a visa from an Indian mission abroad to enter India.
E-visa facility extended to 31 more countries
The government is set to give a major push to the e-tourist visa scheme by extending it to 31 more countries and allowing foreign tourists to avail of the facility at seven more airports by June 15, 2015. Among the countries that will benefit from the latest extension are Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Belgium, Colombia, Cuba, Guatemala, Hungary , Ireland, Jamaica, Malaysia, Malta, Mongolia, Mozambique, the Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Surinam, Sweden, Tanzania, East Timor, Turks & Caicos Islands, the UK, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The airports to be added to the existing list of nine where foreign citizens from eligible countries can land with an e-tourist visa are Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow, Trichy , Varanasi and Ahmedabad. The airports have been chosen due to the large number of foreign tourists they receive on account of their proximity to major tourist spots. The e-visa scheme presently covers 45 countries and can be availed across nine international airports.

With the expansion of the scheme by June, the list will go up to 76 countries and 16 airports.

Travellers who do not require a visa:

  • Citizens of Bhutan and Nepal, who do not require visas.
  • Nationals of Maldives who do not require a visa for visits of up to 90 days.
  • West: Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Daman & Diu, Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh.
  • Persons of Indian Origin and Non-Resident Indians who possess either an OCI or a PIO card, which are the equivalent of a long India visa..
India issues the following types of visas [Source / link to

  • Tourist Visa: Up to 6 months. Apply with: documents supporting your financial standing.
  • Business Visa: One or more years. Apply with letter from the sponsoring organisation.
  • Student Visa: For the duration of the academic course of study or for a period of five years whichever is less. Apply with: proof of admission to recognised Universities / Institutions in India
  • Transit Visa: Maximum period of 15 Days. Apply with: Evidence of onward travel to a destination outside India.
  • Conference Visa: For the duration of the conference or seminar. Apply with: letter of invitation from the organiser of the conference.
When you apply for a visa at an Indian Embassy or High Commission you must include the following:

  • Your passport valid for at least 6 months.
  • Visa fee in cash or by postal order (cheques are normally not accepted).
  • Two passport-size photographs.
  • Supporting documents, where necessary.
  • Duly completed application form.
  • Note: Allow one month’s processing time for postal applications.
  • Some parts of India are “restricted areas” and require special permits.